Symphonic album from Anneke Van Giersbergen

The VUUR’s singer, the Dutch metal queen Anneke Van Giersbergen, is about to appear with her own symphonic live album called Simphonized.

The first single about the album is: Your Glorious Light Will Shine-Helsinki (Symphonized Live)

The track was originally released on VUUR‘s debut album “In This Moment We Are Free-Cities” in 2016.

“Instead of releasing a ‘best-of’ collection to celebrate my 25 years on stage, an album with orchestral reinterpretations seemed much more interesting. Two songs of my new progressive metal band VUUR received wonderful orchestral arrangements as well. I was very surprised how much of the intensity and energy of VUUR’s heavy music is still present. Performing my music with an orchestra has been such an overwhelming experience. I am really happy both concerts were recorded and there is a chance to relive them with this live album.”

“Symphonized” was recorded last May in Dutch venues 013 (Tilburg) and Paard (The Hague).
Anneke performed alongside one of the leading Dutch symphony orchestras Residentie Orkest The Hague conducted by Arjan Tien.
Orchestral arrangements for songs from her solo career, as well as her time in The Gathering, The Gentle Storm and VUUR, were written by Marijn van Prooijen and Gijs Kramers.

Anneke added:

“Instead of a band with additional symphonic accompaniment, we chose to solely use the instruments of the orchestra and I’m very proud of the result!
When artistic director Sven Arne Tepl invited me to create new renditions of songs I have previously recorded, I was immediately enthusiastic. I thought it was the perfect prelude to my 25-year anniversary next year, as I made my stage debut with The Gathering in 1994.”

“Symphonized” will be released on November 16 and will be available as CD Digipak, Gatefold 2LP + CD and as a digital audio download.


Tracklist of the album:

1. Feel Alive
2. Amity (originally released by The Gathering)
3. Your Glorious Light Will Shine – Helsinki (originally released by VUUR)
4. Two Souls (originally released by Lorrainville)
5. When I Am Laid In Earth (aria by Henry Purcell)
6. Travel (originally released by The Gathering)
7. Zo Lief (unreleased song in Dutch)
8. You Will Never Change
9. Freedom – Rio (originally released by VUUR)
10. Forgotten (originally released by The Gathering)
11. Shores Of India (originally released by The Gentle Storm)

You can watch the first video from the album below:

© 2020 Femmezin Empire . Theme by Viva Themes.
%d bloggers like this: